Book coverA Common Struggle: A Personal Journey Through the Past and Future of Mental Illness and Addiction by Patrick Kennedy

Patrick Kennedy, the former congressmen from Rhode Island and youngest child of Senator Ted Kennedy reveals his own personal battle with mental illness and addiction in order to advocate for a change in how we perceive and treat these disorders.   While his story is intertwined with his relationship with his family and how they dealt with trauma and addiction, the reader also learns about the politics of mental health treatment.   The book provides background on the battle for medical rights and insurance coverage for those with addictions, mental illness and other brain diseases.   I thought the author was honest and sincere  in demonstrating  how these conditions impacted his life and his belief in the importance of removing the stigma around mental health disorders.

Tina Stewart/Director


Book coverAll the Stars in the Heavens by Adriana Trigiani

This combination historical and biographical fiction follows the career of actress Loretta Young through scandals, friendships and success as a movie star. The close friendship between Loretta and her assistant, Alda, a former nun, is engaging and a consistent theme throughout. Love affairs, Hollywood A-listers, glamour and the collision between movie star excess and Young’s devout Catholicism heightens the story line. Trigiani brings it all to life with the feel of being an insider. I immediately wanted to watch a Loretta Young/Clark Gable movie!

Lin/Technical Services Assistant Librarian


Book coverBig Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

I read Big Little Lies while on vacation and didn’t speak to my husband for two days while frantically trying to finish this irresistible, satirical novel set in an ordinary suburb. Like “Real Housewives” meets an Australian “Bridget Jones’ Diary”, it’s a book about marriage, parenthood, and family life with a twist that we know someone is going to end up dead. Big Little Lies is Liane Moriarty’s sixth adult novel and thank goodness as I was able to put another on hold before I was even finished.

Danielle/Marketing Librarian


Book cover

Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson

I didn’t know anything about the book when I began reading it and when I finished, I felt like I had discovered a hidden gem. This debut novel is a charming, witty, well-told story of a widowed Englishman in a small country village, who late in life develops a friendship that blossoms into something more with a widowed Pakistani shopkeeper.

Charlotte/Assistant Director


Book cover

The Kind Worth Killing by Peter Swanson

A smart, well-crafted psychological thriller that will keep you turning pages.  Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on a Train will won’t be able to get enough!  A great book club selection.

-Kim/Adult Services Librarian


Book coverYou’re never weird on the Internet (almost) by Felicia Day

Felicia Day, reminisces about home schooling, being a violin prodigy, The World of Warcraft, being a Youtube sensation and more.

-Brad/Technology Librarian